Happy Ada Lovelace Day!

Great post from my colleague Rebecca Valentine celebrating Ada Lovelace and opportunities in computing and IT

The Careers Service Blog

Today is Ada Lovelace Day and here at the University there are a range of exciting and creative activities happening as part of the University’s first Ada Lovelace Day.  The day celebrates the achievements of women in science, technology, engineering and maths but I’ve been thinking particularly about careers in computing and IT.  As a careers consultant I’m passionate about supporting students and graduates to achieve their ambitions, regardless of gender but you could also say that I work in IT myself as I now manage a website and I’m responsible for technology enhanced delivery in the Careers Service.

When I started out my career in careers a few years ago I never imagined that I would end up learning the ins and outs of managing a website and learning to code in HTML and CSS and supporting other colleagues in developing their technical skills, but that’s where I’ve…

View original post 196 more words

Leave a Reply

