Just send that email

Some good advice on making direct approaches to employers (and academic supervisors?) from Bella in our Information Team

The Careers Service Blog

Making a speculative application isn’t as hard as you may think, says Isabella Hughes, Careers Information Adviser

Towards the end of my second year I thought it was a good idea to start thinking about what I wanted to do after graduation. With three months of summer ahead of me I wanted to fill it with useful experiences to help me think about where I saw myself working. An area I’d often considered was working in museums. As an anthropology student I was curious to see what possibilities lay in museums in the anthropological field. After a quick Google search I found that Cambridge had an anthropology museum. I identified contacts from its website and got in touch with the collections manager of anthropology and asked whether they had any opportunities for work experience during the summer months.

Making a speculative application can sound intimidating but it is simply a…

View original post 317 more words

Leave a Reply

